Why machine gun Kelly's album Hotel Diablo is the best of all time

Elena Davidson
3 min readDec 22, 2020

--

Famous rapper Machine Gun Kelly released an album in 2019 called Hotel Diablo.

It debuted at number 5 on the billboard 200 wiht 39,000 equivalent album units 16,000 of that sum in album sales. It is his fourth top 10 album. It slid down to no. 20 in its second week, selling 20,585 album equivalent units.

As he describes, the hotel is his brain and the songs are different levels

At the end, the last song is a collaboration with Youngblud, called “I think im okay”. That is the last song because after all the pain the previous songs describe, he finally things that things are starting to get better, and he is finally ok

He got the tattoo “hotel diablo” on the back of his head to show that there is the entrance

For the album cover he chose a picture of himself as a kid, that he refused to give up on. The picture shows him with his head edited open, and scribbles on the background to show the mess that is going on

In songs like Hollywood whore, Glasshouse ft. Naomi Wild, 53666 ft. Phem and Death im my pocket, he gets really personal with the audience and i think that makes him have a stronger bond with his listeners.

The album is not exactly a rap album, like his previous ones, but has a hint of what his next album would be like, Tickets to my Downfall, wich came put this year, 2020.

As he mentions, the first song of the album, after sex drive the opening track, is the representation of the album. El diablo is a rap song. Personally I loved that song.

Next, we can go ahead and identify each and every fire lyric, but that would take a lot of time so lets just say my favourites.

One song machine gun Kelly has with Trippy redd, candy mentions that he is trying to stop drugs by saying, im trynna fix this damage. in the video clip of that song, we see one of his really close friends and comedian Pete Davidson.

Another favourite of mine is Glass house featuring Naomi Wild. In that song he gets very personal with the listeners and some people may take it as a cry for help. One of the lines says, I put my daughter to bet and attempted to kill my self in the kitchen, yeah I should have screamed but nobody listened so I passed out with the blood dripping in this glass house feeling like a prison, me and death keep tongue kissing.

So obviously these lyrics are very dark, and the audience can’t help but feel closer to the artist, and if they too are going through something similar, they feel less alone.

My all time favourite song of the album though, is 53666 ft. Phem. It refers to drugs and is very ironic. It says “i love my life gonna run it in the ground”. Here Phem syas that she loves her life, when she is on drugs, but the thing that makes her feel the most alive and the happiest also kills her (gonna run it in the ground)

Ok i have many more things to say but lets just be clear: the guy is a genius and go buy his new album Tickets to my Downfall.

--

--

Elena Davidson
0 Followers

Just me expressing myself by writing, hope you enjoy! 😊